Booktalking

I’m preparing for Monday’s class.  I guess I didn’t expect to have this much work.  It’s difficult to do all of this when getting the syllabus after I started the other classes.  But I got some help from my neighbor.  He lent me a few of his kid’s picture books.  It’s really weird to be reading picture books and using them for a booktalk.  I try to recall my childhood.  I feel like I’ve been to a few booktalks, but I don’t remember it.  It seems that growing up in traditional Chinese family has created a very different atmosphere.  Reading never had a strong emphasis.  I feel like I’ve been read to only a handful of times, but I can’t recall most of it.

Doing this booktalking assignment makes me question how important it is to read to my children.  It’s probably never too early to plan for fatherhood, but that’s still a long way to go.  First, I have to find the mother of my children!

I think this upcoming class will test whether I want to be in school media (SCHMEDIA!).  And then I think I will begin to truly ask myself whether I belong here.  Does a mathematician have a place in library school?  At least I didn’t try to become an English teacher…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

